The Synod of the Covenant Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)

Committee on Nominations Report to Synod Assembly January 31, 2023

Committee Members: Mary Jean Blackmon (R.E., Miami Valley, Class of 2023), Michael March (T.E., Mackinac, Class of 2023), Lora Manon (R.E., Maumee Valley, Class of 2025); *Ex Officio* Matt Skolnik (T.E., Muskingum Valley)

Staff: Charles B. Hardwick, Interim Synod Executive

The Committee on Nominations met on January 9, 2023.

Commissioned Ruling Elder Lora Manon (Maumee Valley) served as Moderator of the Committee on Nominations.

The Committee worked to identify individuals to recommend for an appointment for service on the various committees of the Synod. This included working with the Finance Committee to provide a recommendation for a Teaching Elder to fill a vacancy on that committee.

The Committee also selected an individual to be nominated for election as Moderator of the Finance Committee. It should be noted that at the Annual Meeting in 2022, the moderators of the Governance, Human Resources, and Nominations Committee were all duly elected.

Therefore, it is respectfully submitted for the consideration of the Commissioners at this Assembly that:

Frank Walburg (R.E., Muskingum Valley, Class of 2025), be appointed to serve as a member of the Finance Committee. Further, that Frank Walburg (R.E., Muskingum Valley, Class of 2025) be nominated for election as the Moderator of the Finance Committee for 2023.

The Synod of the Covenant Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)

In accordance with the recently adopted Bylaws for the Synod, the Nominations Committee recommends that the following Commissioners be appointed to the various Synod Committees as set forth below:

FINANCE: Charlotte Ellison (T.E., Lake Michigan, Class of 2025) Ted Fines (R.E., Mackinac, Class of 2024); Aaron Meadows (T.E., Eastminster, Class of 2024); Garrett Mostowski (T.E., Detroit, Class of 2024); Joseph Salvato, (R.E., Cincinnati, Class of 2023). If elected, Frank Walburg is the Moderator.

GOVERNANCE: Mark Johnson (R.E., Scioto Valley, Class of 2025); Jonathan Carlisle (T.E., Scioto Valley, Class of 2024); Tom James (T.E., Maumee Valley, Class of 2024); Mike Wakeland (T.E., Miami Valley, Class of 2025). Andy Thorburn (R.E., Lake Michigan, Class of 2023) was previously elected Moderator.

HUMAN RESOURCES: Sandy Seaton- Todd (T.E., Western Reserve, Class of 2023 and SOC Vice Moderator); Jim Bennett (R.E., Eastminster, Class of 2023); Andrew Pomerville (T.E., Lake Huron, Class of 2024); Georgia McCall (R.E., Lake Huron, Class of 2025). Mary Jane Knapp (T.E., Muskingum Valley, Class of 2023) was previously elected Moderator.

NOMINATIONS: Mary Jean Blackmon (R.E., Miami Valley, Class of 2023), Michael March (T.E., Mackinac, Class of 2023), Lora Manon (R.E., Maumee Valley, Class of 2025). Lora Manon (R.E., Maumee Valley, Class of 2025) was previously elected Moderator.

PENDING: Western Reserve Presbytery has not yet elected a Ruling Elder Commissioner, who will need to be appointed to a committee.

Respectfully Submitted,

CRE Lora Manon, Moderator Committee on Nominations.

> 1340 W. Long Lake Bloomfield Hills, MI 48302 248-729-2415 | soc@synodofthecovenant.org

Page 2 of 2